Quick Answer: Who was the first president of Indian National Congress in 1885?

After the party’s foundation in December 1885, Womesh Chunder Bonnerjee became its first president.

Who was elected as the president of Indian National Congress in 1938?

The Indian National Congress met at Haripura during 19 to 22 February 1938, under the presidency of Subhas Chandra Bose; he was elected President of the Haripura Congress Session in 1938. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel had selected Haripura for the convention.

Who founded India?

Portuguese explorer Vasco de Gama becomes the first European to reach India via the Atlantic Ocean when he arrives at Calicut on the Malabar Coast. Da Gama sailed from Lisbon, Portugal, in July 1497, rounded the Cape of Good Hope, and anchored at Malindi on the east coast of Africa.

Who named Indian National Congress?

On 28 December 1885, the Indian National Congress was founded at Gokuldas Tejpal Sanskrit College in Bombay, with 72 delegates in attendance. Hume assumed office as the General Secretary, and Womesh Chunder Bonnerjee of Calcutta was elected president.

Who is the current president of Indian National Congress?

Which was the shortest session of the Congress?

The lame duck session of the 91st Congress reached 45 calendar days by remaining in session until January 2, 1971. The shortest lame duck session occurred in the 80th Congress, when both houses returned solely to close the session on December 31, 1948.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: Who won Indian The Voice 2019?

Who was the first woman president?

The first woman elected president of a country was Vigdís Finnbogadóttir of Iceland, who won the 1980 presidential election as well as three others to also become the longest-serving non-hereditary female head of state in history (16 years and 0 days in office).

Contradictory India