Who was in power in India in 2007?

The Indian National Congress won by a simple majority. A Congress-led coalition government was sworn in on 1 March 2007 with Okram Ibobi Singh as the Chief Minister.

What major events happened in 2007 in India?

18 May – 18 May 2007 Hyderabad Bombing: 9 people are killed in a bomb blast at the Mecca Masjid mosque in the Indian city of Hyderabad, India. 19 July – Prathiba Patilis elected as the first female President of India. 25 August – Forty-four people are dead after two bombs explode in Hyderabad.

Who was in power in India 2006?

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI(M))-led Left Democratic Front beat the incumbent Indian National Congress-led United Democratic Front by a margin of 56 seats (out of a total of 140 seats). V.S. Achuthanandan, of CPI (M) was sworn in as the 20th Chief Minister of Kerala, on May 18, 2006.

Who was in power in 2000 in India?

3 January – Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee accuses Pakistan of being behind the hijacking of an Indian plane and urges that Pakistan be declared a terrorist state. 6 January – India arrests four Kashmiri terrorists in connection with the week-long hijacking in December.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: Why is Chennai so developed?

What events happened in 2007?


  • January 4: Nancy Pelosi becomes Speaker of the House.
  • April 16: United States President George W. …
  • July 15: Opening ceremony of the second Tacoma Narrows Bridge.
  • August 1: …
  • October 20 – November 9: Flames burn Santa Clarita, California during the California wildfires of October 2007.
  • Yvonne De Carlo.
  • Art Buchwald.

What cool things happened in 2007?

Events 2007

  • United States — iPhone Announced. The Apple Computer Company announces the release of the very first iPhone during January of 2007. …
  • NASA Launches Phoenix Mars Lander. …
  • U.S. presidential candidates. …
  • Space – New Horizons Visits Jupiter. …
  • United States – Phoenix Spacecraft.

Who is UPA party in India?

United Progressive Alliance (UPA) is a coalition of predominantly centre-left political parties in India formed after the 2004 general election. The largest member party of the UPA is the Indian National Congress (INC), whose President Sonia Gandhi is chairperson of the UPA.

How many times Congress won in India?

As of 2021, in the 17 general elections since independence, it has won an outright majority on seven occasions and has led the ruling coalition a further three times, heading the central government for more than 54 years.

Who was the PM before Modi?

Prime ministers

Name (birth–death); constituency Term of office
(10) Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1924–2018) MP for Lucknow 22 May 2004
14 Manmohan Singh (born 1932) MP (Rajya Sabha) for Assam 26 May 2014
15 Narendra Damodardas Modi (born 1950) MP for Varanasi Incumbent
IT IS INTERESTING:  Who supplies Indian army weapons?

Who is CM India?

Chief Ministers

State Chief Minister
Assam Shri Himanta Biswa Sarma
Bihar Shri Nitish Kumar
Chhattisgarh Shri Bhupesh Baghel
Delhi (NCT) Shri Arvind Kejriwal

Who ruled India in 1999?

The elections gave Atal Bihari Vajpayee the record of being the first non-Congress Prime Minister to serve a full five-year term.

1999 Indian general election.

Leader Atal Bihari Vajpayee Sonia Gandhi
Alliance NDA INC+
Leader since 16 May 1996 19 March 1998
Leader’s seat Lucknow Amethi

How many states BJP is ruling?

State Legislative Assemblies

S.No. State / Union Territory Ruling Party / Ruling Alliance
27 Telangana TRS
28 Tripura BJP+IPFT
29 Uttar Pradesh BJP
30 Uttarakhand BJP

How many seats did BJP won in 1980?

In the ensuing elections, the INC won 353 seats and the Janata Party just 31 seats, with Charan Singh’s Janata Party (Secular) taking 41. The Janata Party alliance continued to split over the subsequent years.

Contradictory India